top of page
Writer's pictureDara Bolaji

PAINTING OF GIRL IN CLOCK

Updated: Mar 21, 2020


Girl in Timeless Clock. Dara Bolaji, 2019. Acrylic on paper, 210 x 297 mm.

I made this painting based on my poem, When Tears Fall Flat - Forever Just Like That. It depicts a girl, not any particular girl, sitting in a clock face looking rather morose. The clockface is not attached to anything, it appears to be floating, and it does not have any hands - if one cannot tell the time does time even exist? I really don't like the finished outcome of this painting, visually I don't think it quite works as a stand-alone piece. There are, however, aspects of the painting style that I do appreceiate:

Close-up of Girl in Timeless Clock. Dara Bolaji, 2019. Acrylic on paper, 210 x 297 mm.

The tiny details, the speckles, the rough-looking texture. The painting is just A4-sized, so you wouldn't notice these things from afar. However, up close I feel they give the painting character, it looks untidy and imperfect - this to me sort of speaks to the implausibility of altering time.


I had planned to make more paintings in this way - the sort of imaginary style - and display them alongside the poems that inspired them. But as I haven't liked this initial experiment I will likely change my tactic.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page