top of page
Writer's pictureDara Bolaji

A POEM I WROTE ON THE 4TH FEBRUARY

Updated: Mar 21, 2020

When Tears Fall Flat - Forever Just Like That

Scan of a page in my personal poetry book. Dara Bolaji, 2019. Pen on paper, 148 x 210 mm.

I know where you can find a girl

with the power to make time stand still

Up 37 steps and left around the bend

you'll find her with her thoughts at peace

resting alone beneath the open window -

the muted breeze keeping her skin clean

and her mind seventeen


She'll be singing along to the faraway songs

of the party next door

She wasn't invited but still she attends

The music drifts on but the clock doesn't speak

She doesn't mind being kept from her sleep


She doesn't understand this power that we hold

the power to make the hours unfold

You'll find her in an empty box

made of leashes and tearful nightime wishes

in that 2-storeyed coma we used to call home


When you find her there taking refuge in the dark

tell her life will never care which moments she marks

Tell her I miss her when her tears fall flat

and make her promise to stay

forever just like that

 

When I'm looking for a starting point I often turn to my poetry book...


I plan to create a drawing/painting based on or inspired by this poem. At the moment, I am thinking something along the lines of an image of a girl sitting inside a clock face. Like all those old films where somebody cllimbs up the inside of big ben and then finds themself on the outside within the clock face.

 

Click here to see the outcome post

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page