top of page
Writer's pictureDara Bolaji

THE ONES THAT DIDN'T MAKE IT IN

Updated: May 29, 2019



A list of snippets from the back of my poetry book that haven't yet found their way into my poems:


Let my scars be your map to guide you back home


Her breathing sounded like the wind whistling and howling at the rocky cliffs, and the ocean lapping up against the shore


All this time we were living under the balloons - Tell me why we never looked up till now


And you cried because soon you would have to go. home


I shot the world and then put the barrel in my mouth


Sometimes I feel blue. Nothing new


We don't have it all together and we fear we never will


Until the very moment you die you are still very much alive


If this is all a glimpse of the future, then sing me asleep and forever forget to kiss me awake


Pray for the disasters for which there is no one to blame but the earth itself


My tears are spent on your brother before you - I have no more left


What if one day I was dying and you couldn't save me, would they find you crying because you were finally free


A nose, a rose, you pose as though you hate me


Take no credit for my pain. My heart was already broken. All you did was scatter the pieces


I love the things that scare me because they dare me to be brave


If I die young, bury me in memories and lay me to rest on the values that I held


I don't pity myself - just the version of myself I never want to go back to


I've got too many ghosts whose bodies I never buried


(Somewhere between wakinng and dreaming/Last night) I got the feeling that I shouldn't be sleeping


Just because something no longer exists doesn't mean you can't appreciate the beauty it once had


You can't fix me if you don't know how/why I broke


Oh but dear boy, to die by your hand would surely be the greatest honour


I don't like emotins, they suck. Sometimes I want to cut out my heart so it'll stop generating more, and cut out my brain so itl'll stop registering the ones that are already there, clogging my insides, choking my thoughts


This leash is too tight and the rope is too short. You'll strangle me if you keep pulling, so I must break free. Or i'll become a lifeless soul with no more light in my eyes


Fall in love with a poet and you will live for ever. But don't fall in love with me because I won't ever love you back. So you will die the same as me, the same as everbody else who bever had a poet fall in love with them


I think myself falling and I feel myself crying. I never do and never will. But, someday soon


When I told you it's a song, why did that move you along


It's a cruel world when the very air you breathe is the very thing that suffocates you


I'm like a storm - I arrive in a flash, without warning, without peace. And like a thunderbolt I leave again, in search of my lost thoughts


Forever playing the part of the tortured poet


But don't you just see it as a reminder that you're not where you thought you would be, could be, should be


Maybe if I close my eyes they will all go away. But they persist and cling and paint themselves on the insides of my eyelids - always with me (but only in my mind)


Here's the bullet you shot that never did kill. I hid it in my veins for a rainy day. Choke on it


I made my bed, I'll pretend to sleep in it


Sometimes there is no net to fall through


Sorry my dear friend, dying isn't meant for right now


My soul leaks black


All I did today was fill in my brows


I don't know if anything made sense before your smile


I will try to look for her, and all that I will find is just a shadow of all our memories together

 

I am going to use these snippets of my poems in my current work. This is significant because it feels like I am finally finishing a piece of art which I had previously left unfinished.

11 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page