top of page
Writer's pictureDara Bolaji

PROCESS OF MAKING FINAL WORK

Updated: May 28, 2019


Reference photos - photos from a years old photoshoot which I intended to develop into a larger project but somehow I never got round to that

I have sketched from the reference photos. I do not intend to depict them in a completed form. It would seem that the theme of my work is leaning towards "the unfinished". I also do not intend to attempt to make these paintings hyperealistic. I want them to look quite obviously like a painting and not strive for perfection as I have always done. This tends to be what slows down my work and causes most of my projects to wind up unfinished.

I am combining some of my unfinished projects and making the most of how they are in their unfinished states in order to create something that I will in the be finished. I am not striving for clean perfection. Even if I do not quite like how something works out, I am going to try to think at least I have finished making it. "Done is better than perfect".


I have planned out which of The ones that didn't make it in I will use. As not the whole snippet will show - part will be covered by the painting I want to determine which part of the snippet I feel is most important to be legible. The snippets I choose won't necessarily have any semantic connection with the paintings. I don't want to get too caught up with trying to think of a meaningful, conceptual connection - something which also often slows down my productivity.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page