top of page
Writer's pictureDara Bolaji

RALPH DOREY - ARTIST TALK

Updated: May 28, 2019

Notes taken on Wednesday 17th October 2018:

Instability, anxiety The politics of making art that is broken Childish tendancy to turn academic conferences into performances Not very organised Horror genre *Watch hellraiser Theory of a sick woman, being a woman needing care, performing gender

“We should start with the idea of things breaking. Art, us and everything”

(Artist has notes to themself in green which we can see on the slides) (Have programmed an intermission into their slides anticipating they might be feeling "a bit mental") Use value being debated Reading a ?poem

“We is such a small word to account for so many”

Breaking stuff/to be broken as part of a practice Was 14 in 1997. Optimal point to be broken by the film - The ring Creativity and brokenness The ‘ahuman’ term by Patricia... collapsing yourself 3 levels of horror: 1. Horror go what’s under the water 2. Oh shit you’re already in the water it’s around you 3. Whatever it is doesn’t care for boundaries it’s already through you Check bibliography They don't think there is any art that can be reduced to text (and it’s description/contextual meaning) - relates to FA2MW Finding ways to talk about art that aren’t necessarily essays

 

This artist played a number of trailers and videos of varying sorts, I wasn't quite sure how they fit in to their work or if they made them or they were found material. Their general ideas might interest me if I understood what they were talking about. This very last point in the notes that I have put in bold resonates with me. I often find that writing essays about art removes the joy from it. I do not consider myself to be an academic, so I wouldn't opt to write an essay - if I'm writing one it is because I have been required to. I do not feel that Art is something anybody should ever be forced to write an essay about. We should be allowed to talk about it in ways we see fit, or if it feels right, be allowed not to talk about it all.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page