top of page
Writer's pictureDara Bolaji

MY WORDS WITH OTHER PEOPLE'S WORK

Updated: May 28, 2019


During the crit I was offered the idea to place my work next to other people's work that I felt it might resonate with.


I placed two of my poem snippets next to Verity's work - her blue crystallised gun. There were two of my snippets that I felt could work with this piece: Sometimes I feel blue. Nothing new & I shot the world and then put the barrel in my mouth.


I like the idea but something about it made me feel uneasy.


Firstly I felt that if I was going to photgraph their work with my words alongside it and use that in my work I would need to obtain permission from each and every person whose work I wanted to interact with.

I don't mind contacting people but I wondered how I would feel if somebody contacted me to do the same with my work. Which leads me to my second point. That these words are mine and it has nothing to do with anyone else or their work. I wasn't sure how I would feel about letting someone else's work have a kind of agency over mine. And my worries were confirmed when not long after Verity and I collaborated in this way, she sent me two images she had created using the idea of connecting our two pieces together.


This made me feel uneasy because she had modified the way I had presented my work originally and I felt that I did not want that - the way I had originally presented it is the way I wanted it to stay, I did not like that it had taken on a new form which I had not sanctioned. Another issue I had with it is that they were my words, nobody elses - and I felt that for anybody else to use them undermines the circumstances in which I wrote them.


4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page