top of page
Writer's pictureDara Bolaji

MY WORDS ON A BRICK WALL

Updated: May 28, 2019



I wanted a way to display The Ones That Didn't Make It In that wasn't as basic as just writing them out. I used stamps as I thought that this might give them a bit of character. As the stamps are regular sizes it was easy to space out the words to make sure it would fit on the paper. One thing that I am not sure about - although I am leaning towards not liking it, is not being able to use punctuation marks. A lot of my poem snippets are written with contractions. I write them like this because this is how I speak and it feels more comfortable when I read them back to myself. This is similar to my use of commas and fullstops, to signify pauses of varying lengths or the climax of a thought.


For example:


You can't fix me if you don't know how I broke

YOU CAN NOT FIX ME IF YOU DO NOT KNOW HOW I BROKE - Contractions missing


Sometimes I feel blue. Nothing new

SOMETIMES I FEEL BLUE NOTHING NEW - Fullstop missing


Sorry my dear friend, dying isn't meant for right now

SORRY MY DEAR FRIEND DYING IS NOT MEANT FOR RIGHT NOW - Comma & contraction missing


There is also something about the use of all capitals that I am questioning. Quite often these snippets are based on emtions that I would not want to declare outloud, I might prefer to speak them very quietly hoping to not be heard. Or perhaps it is something that is meant to be spoken to someone else and I might need to whisper it to be more gentle. The restriction of all caps with the stamps seems to disrupt that.


As the space I had to display in was a brick wall I wanted to display them in a way that would interact with the wall. So I placed them in a staggered pattern to mimick the interlocking of the bricks.


The way the snippets are displayed, the viewer is able to read all of them with ease. There are not too many that they might get tired of reading them. This being said it might have been interesting if I had created a lot more, especially if I had an even bigger portion of the wall to display on, so that altogether they might have an overwhelming effect on the viewer.

4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page