top of page
Writer's pictureDara Bolaji

MY PREVIOUS WORK - SCREENPRINTING

Updated: May 27, 2019

This is a screenprint that I made last year. It fits with the style of my current project in the sense that it merges text and image. I quite like the bold capital letters that I have used here. Obviously this is a screenprint but it is quite similar to the style of text painting that I used in my text piece Photograph of a Naked Body. I am also drawing inspiration from this because, like my little poem snippets and a lot of my other art, this piece of work is one that has remained unfinished for a long time. The image on the left is a true image of how the work currently exists in a physical state. Whereas, in the image on the right, the blue butterfly has been digitally edited on, in accordance with the way the work was always meant to look once finished.


YOU ARE NOT MAN ENOUGH FOR YOUR FATHER is based on a story that I read on twitter posted by somebody that works as a children's party entertainer. This little boy wanted to have a blue butterfly face painted on his face. His mother objected saying that butterflies are for girls and that he should be given something for boys like a skull and crossbones. She turned to the boy's father and said accusingly, "Do you want your son to have a butterfly on his face?". With the question of the father's masculinity being brought into the conversation, he too objected outright to the butterfly. The artist, disappointed, painted a skull and crossbones on the little boy's face and sent him on his way looking pirate-themed and very sad.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page