top of page
Writer's pictureDara Bolaji

INITIAL IDEAS

Updated: May 29, 2019

I'd like to use my poetry to make a comment on the things that matter, to discuss the socio-political issues that I care about - whether they affect me personally and directly or not.


I think I'd like to do something on the theme of feminism. And the double standards between men and women and the expectations placed on them by people in society who hold fast to their belief in a gender system which is completely binary.


I'd possibly like to explore Samuel Beckett's Not I and Touretteshero's adaptation of it in terms of looking at ways to use text. I am at the moment studying this in one of my theatre modules and it would be interesting to consider how art and theatre might come together in my work.


Fiona Banner is an artist I have looked at before. Her work actually inspired my favourite piece of mine to date. I created it a couple of years ago and it is titled Photograph of a naked body. It is a written description of a photograph of a model I took personally in a nude photoshoot. I find some of the topics she deals with engaging and I appreciate the overall aesthetic of her work.


Betty Tompkin's work reminds me of the piece I made that I mentioned above. I like that she has text written over images. The theme of her work really excites me and I think it is so creative. I love her work and I would probably want to do something similar, however, I would want to use found images. I would prefer to create the images, likely through painting, myself.

This is an idea that came out of discussions in class. I haven't thought too much into it but I do find it intriguing. I guess it is a simple way that text could be combined with the visual.

2 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page