top of page
Writer's pictureDara Bolaji

CHANGE OF DRAWING STYLE

Updated: Mar 21, 2020

After not liking my first painting based on one of my poems I decided that I wanted to just practice drawing and painting again, especiallly portraits, as I had not done this in quite some time. I started sketching from reference photos. I have initially used found photos that I have taken in the past. This is the first sketch I have made from a found reference photo:

Kerstin sitting on a wall. Dara Bolaji, 2016. Photograph printed on paper, 148 x 210 mm. | Dara Bolaji, 2019. Pencil on paper, 210 x 297 mm.

I am trying to focus more on the proportions and the correct placement of features in relation to others, as opposed to worrying about minute perfection. Especially as this is just a preliminary sketch intended to be painted, rather than a finished drawing in its own right.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page