top of page
Writer's pictureDara Bolaji

A SKETCH FROM A NEW PHOTO

Updated: Mar 21, 2020

Although I am taking deliberate photos with the intention of drawing and painting them, I am not doing this in an ideal studio setting with perfect lighting and such. The photos are not intended to be anything other than reference material, they will not be displayed along with the final outcomes, in and of themselves I am not considering them to be art. This means there are some things in the photos I would not want to include in the sketch/painting.

Sam playing on the playstation. Dara Bolaji, 2019. Digital Photograph | Dara Bolaji, 2019. Pencil on paper, 210 x 297 mm.

This sketch is a good example. There is a glare in the subject's glasses which I found irritating as I wanted to see his eyes. I am taking pictures of moments that to me are beautiful and perfect in their everyday simplicity, in their unassuming candidness. When I draw them I want to capture the magic of the moment and the glare in the glasses gets in the way of that. As a painter I have the license to edit the painting as I please, so in this way I am not just documenting my memory of this moment, I am also actively creating it, amending it, re-working it.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page